Home > History, Technology > Downloading Plugins Maybe Dangerous to Your Blogs

Downloading Plugins Maybe Dangerous to Your Blogs

As you noticed on each of my posts, I have no “Related Post” plugins below it.  This will link you to other blogs on my page.

So I tried to look for a plugin that might have this type of features.  When I checked on the WordPress list of plugins, I clicked “Add New” and typed the keyword “related posts”, there were those plugins with ranking on it listed in the menu.  Something catches my eye with a title ” WordPress Related Posts” by fairyfish.net with a rating of 1.1.1.  It seems harmless to me because of the word “WordPress” on it.

Well, its my fifth time installing few of my plugins anyway, so I tried to download it.  A window appeared with a “Download” button.  As the mouse pointer moved over and as I clicked on that button, the browser started to open the link, after two, then 5, and then 10 minutes, nothing happened.  The browser screen was totally empty…as in blank.

With the Google Chrome, the browser I’m using, I tried to make it sure that this isn’t happening, not REAL and I’ just dreaming!!!  So I tried to log-on to my admin site, to my surprise, a blank page appears.  Not even a warning appeared on it or just even a smiley symbol :)… The browser bar indicates the http://mangalary.revler.com/wp-admin though.  I checked the URL and the website is active.  It seems that it’s preventing me from logging in to my admin Dashboard.

I was completely hopeless and with regret.  Trying to fix the problem, I come up of installing internet explorer 8, thinking that it might help.  Even tried to open it on the Firefox browser, but still nothing happened.

To my last hopes, I thought of asking help from my guardian angel Yahoo Support!  Emailed to them what had happened and here’s what they told me…having a smile on my face.

Hello,

Thank you for contacting Yahoo! Small Business Support.

I have disabled the ‘wordpress-related-posts’ plugin. Please check if wordpress is working fine.

Please do not hesitate to reply if you need further assistance.

Regards,

Jeet
Yahoo! Small Business Support

It was really unexpected on my part, they answered me on a few hours.  That’s what you call service!

Anyway, I tried to log in, and there’s my precious Admin Dashboard appeared in front of me glittered with stardusts…just kidding.  I was so happy to see my Dashboard again!

I don’t know what was wrong with “WordPress Related Post” Plugin but surely, I won’t recommend and even want to install it again in my whole life.  I don’t want to loose all my blogs.  Surely, I’ll be doing my backups now as a lesson learned.

Categories: History, Technology
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

