Home > How To's and What Is? > What “RT” in Twitter means?

What “RT” in Twitter means?

I’ve been in twitter few months now.  I usually post  few updates of my status and sometimes my followers come up with a message enclosed the initials of “RT” on it, followed by the “@” sign…it goes something like this…

RT @mangalary: Guys, just posted my new blog today……

and so on.

So, what is RT all about?  I have just found out in some of those blogs that it really means “Re-tweet”…Ok, now I know its meaning, then??

Re-tweet means getting a status of one person and distribute it to your friends.  Let’s say, I have 10 unique friends and nobody from my followers were linked to them…and here comes mangalary, one of my friend in Twitter, sent a message that goes like this…”mangalary: Guys, just posted my new blog today……”.  If I want to send the message to my ten friends to inform them immediately including  its origin, I will put an initial RT followed by the @ sign and the originator, mangalary.  That @ sign indicates that its coming from mangalary.

RT @mangalary: Guys, just posted my new blog today……

It is so good to know new things from people like me

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

